Captain America: Civil War reviewed by Mark Kermode




Mark Kermode reviews Captain America: Civil War. Politics and personal rifts split the Avengers in two, as Captain America and Iron Man go head-to-head.

Please tell us what you think of the film — or Mark’s review of the film – below. We love to include your views on the show every Friday.

Fridays at 2pm on BBC 5 live. .

Find with tag :
Joe Russo,Anthony Russo,Chris Evans,Robert Downey Jr.,Scarlett Johansson,Anthony Mackie,Sebastian Stan,Captain America,Civil War,Kermode and Mayo’s Film Review,BBC,5live

source

Comments (24)
May 13, 2016

I did enjoy BvS.

May 13, 2016

"…a live action version of The Incredibles…"? No, that would be the Fantastic Four. Which, obviously…

May 13, 2016

it was much much better than batman vs superman- which took itself so seriously. this was more fun. more clever, and far far more entertaining. and even though it didn't take itself seriously- actually ended up being far more clever and realistic in the sense of geopolitical commentary, and in terms of wit ,dialogue and character development. marvel just has a lot of very very clever people working for them, whereas DC have Nolan- who is clever of course- and Snyder who is a stylish idiot. Michael Bay come again, redux 2010.

May 17, 2016

I didn't compare this to BvS when I saw it [mostly because I found that film utterly forgettable] but I did compare it with Age of Ultron. Whereas Age of Ultron [to me] felt really long, baggy and it's setting up of other MCU stuff felt clunky, Civil War feels much more coherent & when it introduces the Black Panther it's done in a way that feels germane to the plot.

I was worried about this because it seemed to me that Iron Man should be the character who's violating the rules and feeling boxed in so I was confused a bit by the premise/trailer. However the conflict between him and Cap actually makes sense and the roles they play in the film really work.

It's also a great action movie. I'd say it's on a par with Winter Soldier in terms of stand-alone Avengers movies in that it's kind of more of the same but it's executed brilliantly. Really looking forward to Black Panther now too!

πŸ™‚

May 20, 2016

It's a WAR! That's why there are so many characters, the situation effects all superheroes. Not every character is fleshed out or have an arc, because they don't need to be. They aren't the main characters and that's not the reason why they are in this movie. The politics aren't window dressing the ideas are dispersed throughout the dialogue. The politics are part of the reason why they fight, but it couldn't be the only reason or else Cap and Tony would have been able to reasonably work out their differences.

May 22, 2016

Best review on Civil War I have seen anywhere. Thanks guys πŸ™‚

May 22, 2016

Solid blockbuster, nothing special though. Doesn't come close to being a good film in its own right (Think Nolan's first two Batman films) are the only ones that have transcended the superhero genre. Civil War was good but not quite as good as Winter Soldier.

May 26, 2016

So difference between BvS and Civil War is basically he smiled at some parts of the movie? Yeah that instantly makes it better

May 26, 2016

The should havent put Zemo in it at all. Scarlett witch changes her mind pretty quick during the story seemed odd too. The new spidey is great in the uniform but otherwise seems way miscast , Mellisa tormei is great sexy fun is way miscast too as Aunt may.

kermode isn't even really trying anymore is he. maybe do some research next time

June 3, 2016

I think I more-or-less followed it and enjoyed it, even though I haven't read Marvel comics since 1969. Mark seems a bit confused by colours here: red is definitely not the same thing as purple.

June 9, 2016

Civil War is mediocre.

June 11, 2016

Old people suck.

June 13, 2016

Marvel films are much better at knowing what they are and what their job is.

August 3, 2016

This guy is a dick!!

August 25, 2016

The action sequences were great but all these Marvel movies other than Guardians kind of stumble when they aren't doing big action sequences. The humour helps it along but a lot of the 'heavy' scenes feel like stuff they're just trying to get out of the way before you get to the big action scenes that they obviously made the movie for

September 7, 2016

This, Avengers and Iron Man movies are the worst things ever created. They make Transformer movies seem like masterpieces. They make Sex and The City look good, Entourage look like it was written by Shakespeare. It just worst humanity has produced. Tony Stark is the reason I would hope Red Dawn is a documentary.

December 30, 2016

it pains me to see people genuinely think this is a great film. the direction was average at best and very inconsistent, almost like two different people directed itπŸ€”. there was, as usual, way too much cgi which ruined the already poor action sequences. Daniel bruhl was the villain, and he did a fantastic job as expected from this talented actor, but he was wasted as he was hardly in the film! 5/10.

March 2, 2017

I admire the depth of his knowledge and his ability to dig into the detail but he always says movies are too long. I thought the running time was perfect for this movie, I'd ask what scenes would you cut?

June 22, 2017

A RICK ROARING ROMP OF A RIDE!!

August 9, 2017

so what he's saying is… both are bad movies, but at least CW made him smile. ok.

November 20, 2017

Mark Kermode: Civil War has too many characters
Me: well infinity war is gonna be interesting for you

December 16, 2017

"a rip-roaring romp of a ride"

May 22, 2019

Tbh, I thought it was slow throughout. I enjoyed bvs more, despite it having problems.

Leave a comment
Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons.

Shopping cart

×