Naruto – 5 Steps to Become the Hokage

It's 9 o' clock in the morning. You begin your day with a routine breakfast and a shower and have big dreams. In Naruto's case, to be acknowledged by the villagers by becoming the hokage. So, while walking to the academy with proper attire along with equipment and forgetting the past and looking forward to a challenging future with a bright smile, what are the obstacles that Naruto must overcome to become the hokage:

Ninja Ranking System


The lowest level of the ninja ranking system in the Naruto world. The students learn through broad theoretical ninja abilities, also known as jutsus and perform basic jutsus such as the replacement technique whereby the user has the ability to replicate himself or other people that he desires to replicate. Students graduate from the academy by passing the final exam.


Achieved after graduating from the ninja academy by wearing a headband which symbolizes their respective village. The ninja's life begins here as they are exposed to different levels of mission and apply their jutsus during battles. Ninjas are expect to perform D rank jutsus like simple replication technique.


After a few missions, the students would enter into the chuunin exams divided into 3 stages; multiple choice test, forest of death and sudden death tournament to complete the whole exam.

The exams are slightly different to genin as the ninjas have to work together in order to accomplish their common goal.

For instance, in Forest of Death, both Sasuke and Naruto combined their efforts to overcome a group of ninja from the rain village to gather one of the scrolls required in the mission.

The exam also test the ninja's ability to make the right decisions and working as a team.


The jounins normally perform B rank jutsus and have the responsibility to protect the village as a whole. They also have to seek new missions and lead their own team like for example, Kakashi of Team 7, Naruto, Sasuke and Sakura. Some jounins tend to participate in specialized jounins or ANBU which is a group that conduct top secret missions and must conceal their true identity from the other ninjas.


The highest ranking ninja in the Naruto world. Ultimately posses all the rank jutsus from A to S but more commonly posses the A rank and S rank jutsus also known as kinjutsus or “forbidden” jutsus which cause harm to the user. The most notable example is the sealing jutsu performed by the fourth hokage in sealing the kyuubi into Naruto's body. Other examples are Naruto's ability to perform kage bunshins and the cursed seal technique performed by Sasuke.

Also known as one of the most powerful ninja in one of the 5 powerful countries; Konohagakure (Hokage), Sunagakure (Kazekage), Kirigakure (Mizukage), Kumogakure (Raikage) and Iwagakure (Tsuchikage).

The leader of the ninja society, treated as being equal with the rulers of their country, oversees the activities of their villages, sometimes consult with the higher ups people, sending and allocate teams into missions and making decisions regarding the safety of the village.

But what's the bigger picture for the village?

Only a few elite ninjas achieve the ultimate position along with equipping powerful jutsus, bloodline limits and forbidden techniques. But being at the highest level like for instance, the hokage is not just about having knowledge on all types of jutsu as Sarutobi, the third hokage once emphasized that being the hokage is about relentless determination and willing to sacrifice for others to pass on to the newer and ever stronger generations.

Source by Heikal Suhaili

Leave a comment
Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons.

Shopping cart